13th April 2024
Ana Belén and Dani Rovira (centre), who announced the nominations on 18 January 2020.
Culture Film

Nominations for the 35th Goya Awards (Spain’s Oscars) have been announced

In what have been challenging times for the film industry internationally, the Spanish version of the Oscars, the Goya Awards, is on course to celebrate its 35th edition this year. Presented by the Academy of Cinematographic Arts and Sciences (AACCE), the Awards will honour the best in Spanish films of 2020.

The finalists were announced on Monday in Madrid by actress and singer Ana Belén alongside actor and comedian Dani Rovira – a week later than expected due to complications provoked by Storm Filomena.

For the third consecutive year the Goyas will be held in Andalusia. Last year Pedro Almodóvar’s semi-autobiographical drama Pain and Glory triumphed, winning seven awards, including best picture, director, original screenplay, and best actor for Antonio Banderas.

Banderas, along with journalist María Casado, will present and co-direct this year’s ceremony on the 6 March in the Teatro del Soho Caixa Bank in Málaga. This year, however, the event has had to adapt to the extraordinary circumstances caused by the Covid-19 pandemic.

Vice-president of the Academy, Rafael Portela, explained that the ceremony will differ from other years; with heightened security, strict measures outlined by the health authorities, along with reduced audience capacity. Award ceremony parties – before or after the event – are also strictly prohibited. Although the event will be austere in comparison to previous editions, the organisers have committed to valuing art, talent, creativity, and the imagination of the world of cinema, especially in these adverse times, when Spanish box office earnings saw a decrease of 446 million euros in comparison to 2019.

The Academy has also made an exception to its rules for the 35th edition of the Goya Awards. Previously, to be eligible for an award it was mandatory to premier in commercial theatres with a box office open to the public. The closure and reduced capacity of movie theatres throughout 2020, as well as the cancellation of premieres, has resulted in a modification of the criteria to account for films that could not have a theatrical release and were released on streaming instead.

Ana Belén and Dani Rovira (centre), who announced the nominations on 18 January 2020.
Ana Belén and Dani Rovira (centre), who announced the nominations on 18 January 2020. (Academia de Cine)

A total of 155 films released in Spain between 1 January and 31 December 2020 were eligible for the awards. Of these 155 productions, 82 are fiction, 72 are documentaries and 1 is animation. Also participating this year are 56 European films, 16 Ibero-American films and 35 short films.

The nominations announced on Monday revealed the favourites this year: Adú, by Salvador Calvo (13 nominations); Akelarre (Coven), by Pablo Agüero (9 nominations); Las niñas, by Pilar Palomero (9 nominations), and La boda de Rosa, by Icíar Bollaín (8 nominations).

The Netflix drama Adú, is a frontrunner for the 35th Goya Awards, with nominations in categories including best film and best director. Adú tells the story of two Cameroonian brothers who dream of reaching Europe to escape poverty – a film based on the migratory dilemma and tragedy that has become a reality for the Mediterranean.

Contenders for the best Ibero-American film include Chilean documentary El agente topo (The Mole Agent), El olvido que seremos (Forgotten We’ll Be) from Columbian filmmaker Fernando Trueba, the Guatemalan horror film La llorona, and Fernando Frias’ Mexican drama, Yo no estoy aquí (I’m No Longer Here).

In the category for Best European film are Jan Komasa’s Polish drama Corpus Christi, Florian Zeller’s Brit drama The Father, Viggo Mortensen’s Falling, and An Officer and a Spy from Roman Polanski.

Although the winners will not be announced until the live-streamed ceremony on the 6 March, two awards are known for certain: Best Animated Film (and winner for being the only nominee) La gallina Turuleca (Turu, the Wacky Hen) and secondly, the Goya of Honour, decided by the Board of Directors and which recognises a lifetime of dedication to cinema, which goes to actress Ángela Molina.

ALSO READ (26/1/20): Pedro Almodóvar’s ‘Pain and Glory’ triumphs at Goyas

The nominees in the major categories for this year are the following: 

Best Film


Ane (Ane Is Missing)

La boda de Rosa (Rosa’s Wedding)

Las niñas (The Girls)

Sentimental (The People Upstairs)

Best Director

Salvador Calvo – Adú

Juanma Bajo Ulloa – Baby

Icíar Bollaín – La boda de Rosa (Rosa’s Wedding)

Isabel Coixet – Nieva en Benidorm (It Snows in Benidorm)

Best Actor

Mario Casas – No matarás (Cross the Line)

Javier Cámara – Sentimental (The People Upstairs)

Ernesto Alterio – Un mundo normal (A Normal World)

David Verdaguer – Uno para todos (One for All)

Best Actress

Amaia Aberasturi – Akelarre (Coven)

Patricia López Arnaiz –Ane (Ane Is Missing)

Kiti Mánver – El inconveniente (One Careful Owner)

Candela Peña – La boda de Rosa (Rosa’s Wedding)

Best Supporting Actor  

Álvaro Cervantes – Adú

Sergi López – La boda de Rosa (Rosa’s Wedding)

Juan Diego Botto – Los europeos (The Europeans)

Alberto San Juan – Sentimental (The People Upstairs)

Best Supporting Actress

Juana Acosta – El inconveniente (One Careful Owner)

Verónica Echegui – Explota. Explota. (My Heart Goes Boom!)

Nathalie Poza – La boda de Rosa (Rosa’s Wedding)

Natalia de Molina – Las niñas (Schoolgirls)

Best New Actor

Adam Nourou – Adú

Chema del Barco – El plan (The Plan)

Janick – Historias lamentables

Fernando Valdivielso – No matarás (Cross the Line)

Best New Actress

Jone Laspiur – Ane

Paula Usero – La boda de Rosa (Rosa’s Wedding)

Milena Smith – No matarás (Cross the Line)

Griselda Siciliani – Sentimental (The People Upstairs)

Best Original Screenplay          

Adú – Alejandro Hernández

Historias lamentables – Claro García and Javier Fesser

La Boda de Rosa (Rosa’s Wedding) – Alicia Luna and Icíar Bollaín

Las niñas (The Girls) – Pilar Palomero

Best Adapted Screenplay

Ane – David Pérez Sañudo and Marina Parés Pulido

Los europeos (The Europeans) – Bernardo Sánchez and Marta Libertad Castillo

Oríngenes secretos (Unknown Origins) – David Galán Galindo and Fernando Navarro

Sentimental (The People Upstairs) – Cesc Gay

Best Spanish Language Foreign Film

El agente topo (The Mole Agent) – Chile

El olvido que seremos (Memories of My Father) – Colombia

La llorona (The Weeping Woman) – Guatemala

Yo no estoy aquí (I’m No Longer Here) – Mexico

Best European Film

Corpus Christi

El oficial y el espía (An Officer and a Spy)

El Padre (The Father)


Best New Director       

David Pérez Sañudo – Ane

Bernabé Rico – El inconveniente (One Careful Owner)

Pilar Palometo – Las niñas (The Girls)

Nuria Giménez Lorang – My Mexican Bretzel

Best Animated Film

La gallina Turuleca (Turu, the Wacky Hen)

Recent Posts

Catalan police dismantle syndicate that allegedly sold fake Banksy art

News Desk

Sigourney Weaver’s Goya speech: ‘The excellent actress who dubs me should be up here, too’

News Desk

Spain’s Eurovision song ‘Zorra’ – an insult to women or defending them?

News Desk

Sónar lights up the Barcelona skyline with interactive installation ‘Analema’

Mike Pendergast

J.A.Bayona’s ‘Society of the Snow’ nominated for a Golden Globe


Lana Del Rey, Pulp and SZA to headline Barcelona’s Primavera Sound 2024


Leave a Comment