23rd May 2022

MotoGP 2020 season will start on 19 July in Spain

The 2020 MotoGP season will start on 19 July in Spain following the Coronavirus (Covid-19) lockdown, with back-to-back races to be held at the Circuito de Jerez-Ángel Nieto, organisers announced on Thursday.

The Red Bull Grand Prix of Spain will be held on 19 July in Jerez, and the Red Bull Grand Prix of Andalusia on 26 July.

There will be a minimum of 13 races in the season, all in Europe between July and November, with ‘possibly four more’ outside the continent later in the year.

Whether or not fans can attend races will depend on each host country’s Coronavirus restrictions.

2020 MotoGP Calendar
2020 MotoGP Calendar

‘All dates, events and the eventual attendance of spectators are subject to the evolution of the pandemic and the approval of the corresponding governments and authorities,’ MotoGP said in a statement.

Spain will host seven races in total, with the Catalunya Grand Prix to go ahead in Barcelona on 27 September, while double-headers are also booked in at Aragon and in Valencia for October and November respectively.

Recent Posts

Max Verstappen wins Spanish Grand Prix and takes world championship lead

Sports Desk

‘Best in world’ Carlos Alcaraz is the clear heir to his idol, Rafa Nadal

Sports Desk

Some Real Madrid fans left stadium before epic comeback in Champions League

Sports Desk

Nadal and Djokovic call Wimbledon’s ban on Russian players ‘unfair’

Sports Desk

Spain thrown out of Rugby World Cup for fielding ineligible player

Sports Desk

Barça to play 2023-24 season away from Camp Nou

News Desk

Leave a Comment