Spain in English

Spain lifts suspension of arrivals from UK from 30 March

An image of a flight arrivals board at Barcelona airport during the height of the lockdown in April 2020. (Edu Bayer).

Latest: Coronavirus in Spain figures (5 Apr)

Spain has lifted the ban on arrivals from the UK and it will take effect after 6pm on 30 March for those who are not residents in Spain nor Spanish passport holders.

All arrivals will, however, still have to provide proof of a negative PCR test upon entry to the country. Click here for our previous report on the test requirements. International transit through Spanish airports by passengers on flights departing from the UK is also only permitted on presentation of a negative PCR, TNA or LAMP test taken within no more than 72 hours prior to arrival into Spain.

Flights from the UK were originally suspended from 22 December, with Spanish nationals and residents being the only groups still eligible to travel. The decision to lift the ban from 30 March was confirmed in a Spanish government cabinet meeting on Tuesday.

At the same council meeting, the authorities have extended the restriction of entry into Spain from Brazil and South Africa, two countries where other variants of Covid-19 were discovered and spread. These latest measures will last at least until midnight on 13 April.

Spain has again extended its travel ban on arrivals from the UK, as well as from Brazil and South Africa in order to combat the new variants of Covid-19. At a cabinet meeting on Tuesday, it was agreed that the latest extension will now be until 6pm on 30 March.

International residents in Spain should also carry residence documents (the green paper EU residence certificate or the new TIE), as well as a valid passport when travelling. For British nationals, please also refer to the UK Government’s page for Spain Travel Advice.

Spain is suspending flight arrivals from the UK from tomorrow (Tuesday 22 December), except for Spanish citizens and residents. The decision has been taken in conjunction with Portugal and will now remain in place at least until 19 January. It will also be reinforcing controls at the border with Gibraltar, after the new strain of Coronavirus was also detected there.

On Sunday, the Spanish government had initially announced that it would be reinforcing checks for proof of negative PCR tests on all travellers from the UK arriving at airports and ports, following other countries announcing the suspension of flights from the UK over fears of the new strain of Covid-19 on Sunday.

It follows the announcement on Saturday from British Prime Minister Boris Johnson, that a new strain of Covid-19 circulating in London and the south east of England was up to 70% more transmissible, and that the areas were to be placed in a new Tier 4 level of restrictions.

On Sunday, Spain’s Foreign Minister, Arancha González Laya, had asked the EU institutions for an urgent coordinated response to the issue, and said that Spain would otherwise act to ‘defend the interests and rights of Spanish citizens’.

On Sunday, Italy, the Netherlands and Belgium were the first countries to announce a halt on flights arriving from the UK. Belgium also suspended Eurostar train arrivals. Germany, France and Ireland then also joined the growing list of countries imposing travel restrictions. France also put a halt on all accompanied freight travel to and from the UK for 48 hours. In the past 24 hours, India, Russia, Denmark, Norway, Israel, Austria, Bulgaria, Switzerland, Lithuania, Latvia, Estonia, Malta, Sweden, Greece, Turkey, Hong Kong, Canada, Saudi Arabia, Kuwait, Jordan, the Czech Republic, Columbia, Morocco, Chile, Finland and Argentina have all also imposed restrictions on arrivals from the UK.

Click here for all previous reports on: Coronavirus in Spain

Sign up for the FREE Weekly Newsletter from Spain in English

Please support Spain in English with a donation.

Click here to get your business activity or services listed on our DIRECTORY

Exit mobile version