Spain in English

Spain open to EU visitors from 21 June (except Portugal), quarantine also lifted

Latest: Coronavirus in Spain figures (8 Jan)

Also read: Details of curfews & restrictions for all regions during new ‘State of Alarm’

Spain’s Foreign Minister Arancha González Laya has said that ‘reciprocal quarantine’ could be imposed on visitors to Spain from the UK after 21 June, in response to the UK government’s current quarantine requirements.

ALSO READ: Spanish foreign minister says ‘reciprocal quarantine’ could be imposed on visitors from UK

Report below updated in Spain at 16h on Monday 15 June

#LATEST UPDATE – 16h – The British Embassy in Spain has confirmed that the UK is included in the list of countries to whom border relaxations with Spain will apply from 21 June.

Spanish Prime Minister Pedro Sánchez has announced that the country will be open to visitors from all European Union countries in the Schengen Area, with the exception of Portugal, from 21 June. EU travellers arriving in Spain from 21 June will also no longer be required to stay in quarantine for two weeks.

The exception with Portugal, which will be until 1 July, is at the request of the Portuguese government.

CLARIFICATION: Although Sánchez specifically referred to Schengen Area states in his announcement on Sunday, Spain’s Foreign Minister Arancha González Laya later referred to ‘EU & Schengen area countries’ in a Tweet. The Telegraph and The Independent newspapers have since reported that ‘Spanish government sources’ later confirmed that British travellers would be included in being allowed to travel to Spain from 21 June.

Sánchez made the announcement during his weekly video-conference call with Spain’s regional presidents, which have taken place every Sunday since the start of the Coronavirus (Covid-19) crisis. He also told them that today would be the last of the weekly conference calls. Their next meeting will be scheduled for the end of July, and will be in person.

ALSO READ: Coronavirus in Spain figures (16 June)

Pedro Sánchez in a video conference meeting with the regional presidents of Spain. (Pool Moncloa / Borja Puig de la Bellacasa)

Spain closed its borders after it originally commenced its ‘state of alarm’ and lockdown from 14 March. On Wednesday 3 June the Spanish Congress voted to extend the ‘state of alarm’ in the country until 21 June. It was the sixth and final extension.

From 21 June, citizens across Spain will also be able to travel freely from region to region. Up until now, most residents are still limited to their province or region under the government’s four phase de-escalation plan.

ALSO READ: EU to propose ‘gradual and partial’ re-opening of external borders from 1 July

International travellers from non-EU countries will be allowed to enter Spain from 1 July, as long as there is a reciprocal agreement on travel and taking into account the epidemiological situation in the country of origin.

Sign up for the FREE Weekly Newsletter from Spain in English

Please click to support Spain in English with a donation

Click here for all our previous reports on: Coronavirus in Spain

Please also read these previous related reports:

ALSO READ: Spain prepares for national and international tourists … but will they come?

ALSO READ: Spain reiterates that international visitors must wait until 1 July

ALSO READ: Spain extends international ban on entry into country until 15 June

Published 23 March: The new restrictions at Spain’s airports, ports and land borders

Exit mobile version